Kill the Boy Band

Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

IMG_5610

 

Just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near them. That’s why we got a room in the hotel where they were staying.

We were not planning to kidnap one of them. Especially not the most useless one. But we had him– his room key, his cellphone, and his secrets.

We were not planning on what happened next.

We swear.

— From the book jacket of Kill The Boy Band

The Ruperts are the biggest group in the world, and their first trip to America sold out in seconds. But that won’t stop 4 friends from getting as close as they can to their favorite group.

They only wanted to be near them. Maybe see them. Get a hug and take a selfie. Definitely not kidnap one of them. That was not part of the plan. Neither was tying him up and holding him hostage. Or everything else that followed. That was never supposed to happen. They loved The Ruperts! Right?

Confession: I’m a fangirl. I always have been. I probably always will be. When I was little I fangirled over The Mickey Mouse Club (pre-Justin, Britney, and Christina MMC, when it was actually good). When I was in high school I fangirled over boy bands. Backstreet Boys, NSYNC, 98 Degrees; it didn’t matter. I was equal opportunity (although 98 Degrees was my favorite). These days I fangirl over the show Supernatural. I can’t help myself. I didn’t choose the fangirl life, the fangirl life chose me. This book spoke to me on so many levels.

Well you know, except the whole kidnapping and holding a boy bander hostage with tights part.

It starts out innocent enough. 4 friends who want to be as close to their favorite band, The Ruperts, as they can. They book a room in the hotel where the boys are staying, just hoping they’ll happen upon them accidentally so they can meet their idols. Which is exactly what happens– just not quite the way they pictured.

When Apple comes back to the room with her favorite Rupert, he’s unconscious. Instead of helping him, the girls decide to tie him to a chair. I mean, you’ve got your idol in your midst. Why would you just let him go? While he’s tied up, the girls uncover his deepest secrets. Secrets they can use as leverage.

As the plot progresses, the story takes a turn towards the ridiculous, but it’s never completely implausible. Nothing is impossible in the realm of fangirls. And as things spiral out of control, you start to wonder if maybe things weren’t such an accident after all. At what point does love and obsession cross the line into something dark and dangerous? How much is too much?

I. LOVED. THIS. BOOK. I grinned and giggled through the entire thing. I grinned and giggled just thinking about it even when I wasn’t reading it. I never wanted it to end.

As I read, I thought of all the things my friends and I had done for our boy band loves. We stood in line for tickets to see our favorite bands (this was pre-Ticketmaster website. You actually had to GO to somewhere that sold through Ticketmaster and wait). We drove for hours to see them in concert. We wallpapered our rooms with posters. We recorded and rewatched EVERY APPEARANCE they ever made a thousand times. On VHS. In the Pre-Tumblr era, we made fan sites on Angelfire and Geocities. We wrote fanfiction a decade before I even realized there was such a thing. We were just like the girls in the book, with a little less technology. But the feelings for our boy bands? Exactly the same.

Well, mostly.

IMG_5673


Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky
Format: Hardcover – List Price: $17.99
ISBN: 9780545867474
Buy your copy here: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Nook, Kindle, and Audible

Find more about Goldy Moldavsky

Leave a Reply

