Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – SPOILER FREE!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

IMG_6315

It’s always been difficult being Harry Potter, and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and a father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: Sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

— From the book jacket of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Normally, this is where I would give another brief synopsis of the plot before going into what I thought of the book. But I’m not. The book has only been out for 2 days, and there are a lot who still haven’t read it. So in order to #keepthesecrets, I’m not going to recap.

Honestly, I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to do a review for this one, especially one so soon after the book’s release. I didn’t want to give anything away within my review. But I feel like I should. I devoured this book within a day. (Even though it’s a hefty hardcover, it’s pretty easy to do. There’s not a lot on each page.) This is a book we’ve all waited for, and what kind of blogger and Harry Potter fan would I be to not share my thoughts on it. So I’ll just do a very brief, no spoilers, reaction post for now and possibly revisit the idea of a full review later.

The bookstore I work at threw a Countdown to Midnight Release party, so I was able to get my hands on it after everyone got through the line. I spent the whole next day curled up in bed reading it. Here’s all of my reactions, in the only way I knew how to post them–Supernatural style.

Holding my copy after the Midnight Release

dean-fangirl

Opening the first page

SPN-excitement

Act I:

Act II (A constant revolving door of 3 reactions)

with one final thought before Act III

DeanScream2

Act III:

 

Act IV:

 

My final thought on the book

crowleyfeelings

As it’s written in script form, it is a story that is obviously meant to be seen. As I read through, I kept imaging what the stage would look like. The lights and sounds. The set and costumes. I’ll probably never get to experience it live on a real stage, but I hope that someday I’m at least able to see a recorded performance of it to get the effect. As simple dialogue and stage directions, you don’t get the full scope of the characters. It’s one thing to read the words on a page, but to see it come to life through the nuances of body language, facial expressions, vocal rhythm and tone is a whole different experience, and one that I hope I get to witness eventually.

All in all, I liked the story very much. It was interesting to see a different side to the characters we’ve all loved for so long. It still retains its humor and wittiness along with its anger, pain, and loss. There’s action and adventure. And above all, there’s hope. But to read it in a format it’s not meant for… it loses just a little bit of its magic. But only a little.

IMG_6340


Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany
Format: Hardcover – List Price: $29.99
ISBN: 9781338099133
Buy yours at: Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Book Depository, Nook, and Kindle

Learn more about JK Rowling and the world of Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

