2016 Wrap Up

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Well… I didn’t do as well as I had hoped in 2016.

I set myself a goal of 60 books to read this year. I ended up with… 33.

Ouch.

I’m staring at my list, thinking to myself, “That’s it? That’s all I read? That’s not much…” At least compared to previous years.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

So where did I go so horribly wrong with my reading? Well, I definitely struggled with the beginning and the end of the year. It took me until March to read ONE book, and I haven’t finished a book since October. (Although I’ve been making a lot of progress with my current read these last couple days! You know.. The one I’ve been reading since November..) The holidays seem to be kicking my ass the past few years, making it impossible to have time to read, and then it takes me forever to recover. I’m going to try a LOT harder next year. No more ZERO book months!

As I scroll down the list, I realize there are a lot of mediocre books on it. There are plenty of stories that were good, but not great, but there are some that I don’t even remember what they’re about anymore. And some I plain wish I could forget.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I planned on making these lists a Top 3 of my favorites and disappointments from the year, but as I went down the list I found myself saying, “Well there’s this one too…” So I tried for a Top 5. But as I said, most of my reading list from this year was just mediocre. No matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t come up with a 5th either. There wasn’t another stand out that I could say was my FAVORITE, and there also wasn’t another one that I just absolutely hated. So here it is.. A non-traditional Top 4.

My Top 4 of 2016 (in no particular order):

  1. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
    • Ocean’s 11 meets Dystopian Russia. Action and adventure, a little grusome, with a little romance, and a whole lot of characters I loved getting to know. And it doesn’t hurt that the physical book is downright gorgeous.
  2. Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir
    • Hunger Games meets Gladiator with some romance and a spy. It’s packed with action that doesn’t shy away from violence. Just how I like it.
  3. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
    • An incredible before and after story from different POVs. Beautifully written, capturing love, loss, and redemption in some of the most expertly painted tone I’ve ever read. (Review)
  4. The Female of the Species – Mindy McGinnis
    • Honest, raw, and thought provoking, it’s one of the standout novels this year. No other book made me think and feel quite as hard as this one. A very important topic at a very important time. (Review)

Incredible world building. Superb character development. Story lines I couldn’t stop reading. These are the books that I wanted to shout about from the rooftops and hand to every customer at work this year.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The Top 4 Disappointments (in no particular order):

  1. Seven Black Diamonds – Melissa Marr
    • A cliché group of fairy assassins at a rich boarding school that I couldn’t care less about if I tried. (Review)
  2. Unrivaled – Alyson Noel
    • Also a cliché group of rich kids competing in an Apprentice style game in Hollywood, with a mystery that is never solved because I’m never reading the sequel. Hated everyone. (Review)
  3. Burning – Danielle Rollins
    • There seems to be a common theme here. Cliché. Cliché. Cliché. With a weird twist that I couldn’t get behind.
  4. The Last Boy and Girl in the World – Siobhan Vivian
    • Another common theme– characters I didn’t like. Keeley is a selfish, immature brat that I just hated from the start. (Review)

There was so much potential in the stories of this Top 4, but between plot lines taking weird turns or simply falling flat, and characters I wished were killed off after the first few pages, these were the duds of the year.

img_5025

So there you have it. A sort of disappointing year in reading. I didn’t read enough books, and definitely didn’t read enough GOOD books. Here’s to hoping 2017 is a bit better!

Check out my whole list, all prettied up, on Goodreads!

How did your 2016 stack up?

Leave a Reply

